The Sew Weekly Sewing Circle

Hi

I'm fairly new at sewing and go to a sewing class which I love!!

I was just wondering where people get patterns and fabrics from to save money.  Ob as I'm new to sewing I don't have the patterns already and I don't have a fabric stash. And in my local area we have one shop that sells fabric but its aimed at upholstery fabrics - Not even a jersey in sight!!!

So I was just wondering what other people did!!!

Thanks for any help in advance!!!

Views: 250

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi, Sarah,
I find patterns, etc. at thrift stores, estate sales, and garage sales. I am lucky to live in a city with wonderful fabric stores, but I also purchase fabric online sometimes. Good luck!
I usually buy patterns during 99-cent sales at JoAnn or Hancock Fabrics. Most of my fabrics are hand-me-downs from my Mom/Grandma, from a local store (Fabrika, they sell online), or Fabric.com which is hard to navigate but sometimes has good deals and coupon codes.

I don't like to pay much money for anything, I just wait patiently for deals! Sometimes thrift stores have fabric too on occasion, as well as yard/estate sales and Craigslist finds.

99 cent sales at Hancock, Jo Anns, and Hobby Lobby are definitely the way to go with patterns.  They go on sale at these prices every month or so and I usually stock up then.  My city has a lot of fabric stores, but I can't really afford to shop at them as they're really pricey so I usually shop online.  I use Fabric.com, which has great sales, but as Aubrey mentioned, the site is hard to navigate.   

I'm gettingmy list ready for an assault on Hancock this morning! MLK day sale. I haven't found a cheaper source than a sale and a coupon!  I agree about fabric.com- great stuff, but hard to shop for me at least!